Cats in Space

Cats in Space
CATS in SPACE - London O2 Indigo 2016
CATS in SPACE - London O2 Indigo 2016
Background information
OriginHorsham, West Sussex
GenresRock, Power pop, Glam rock, Pop rock
Years active2015–present
MembersDamien Edwards
Greg Hart
Steevi Bacon
Dean Howard
Jeff Brown
Andy Stewart
Mick Wilson
Past membersPaul Manzi
Mark Pascall

Cats in Space (styled CATS in SPACE - The Band)[1][2] is a British rock band formed in Horsham, West Sussex in 2015 by guitarist Greg Hart and drummer Steevi Bacon. Following the band's inception, vocalist Paul Manzi, keyboardist Andy Stewart, bassist Jeff Brown, and second guitarist Dean Howard were recruited to complete the official lineup. In mid-2019, vocalist Paul Manzi announced that he would leave the band to join The Sweet after the first half of ‘The Narnia Tour.’ Soon after Manzi’s departure from the band, Mark Pascall joined the band as their new lead vocalist. After the tour, the band parted ways with Pascall. He was then replaced by Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds stage show vocalist Damien Edwards.[3]


Cats in Space began to work on their debut album Too Many Gods.[4] The recording sessions had guest vocal appearances by both key songwriter Greg Hart's fellow co-writer Mick Wilson of 10cc, as well as a guitar/vocal session by Andy Scott of The Sweet.

The band released their first single from the album on 24 August 2015 via YouTube, named "Mr. Heartache".[5]

Cats in Space announced their second album, the follow-up to critically acclaimed debut album Too Many Gods,[6] titled Scarecrow, with an official release date of 25 August 2017.

Track two, "The Mad Hatter's Tea Party" (which the band had previously showcased on the 2017 Thunder support tour) was released on 21 July 2017, as a music promo on YouTube,[7] both albums were then announced as digitally available in their entirety on all the reputable digital media platform outlets.

Tours and Shows

Cats in Space made their debut appearance at London's The Half Moon,[8] Putney SW15, on Wednesday 6 January 2016. They made subsequent appearances leading them to accept their fourth show at the Stone Free Festival on Sunday 19 June 2016.[9][10]

Their fifth performance was at The Ramblin' Man Fair,[11] on the new Rising Stage[12] at Mote Park, Maidstone, Kent on 24 July 2016. The line up featured many classic rock bands including Whitesnake, Europe, Thin Lizzy, Thunder, Airbourne and Black Stone Cherry.[13]

Thunder UK Tour March 2017

December 2016, UK rock band Thunder announced that a studio album entitled Rip It Up would be released on 10 February 2017. This would also coincide with a number of live dates. Cats in Space was confirmed on 23 January 2017 as the official UK tour support.[14][15]

British Summer Time (BST) Hyde Park, London, UK

Monday 27 March, Cats in Space were added to the Phil Collins BST Hyde Park concert line-up. The concert took place on Friday 30 June 2017.[16][17]

Fairport Cropredy Convention 2017

12 August 2017, the band played a one-hour set to an over 20,000 plus capacity at the Fairport's Cropredy Convention[18] in Oxfordshire.

Deep Purple Long Goodbye UK Tour 2017

An announcement was made onstage on the final night of the Scarecrow headline tour, that Cats in Space had been added to the whole UK leg of the Deep Purple 2017 arena tour [19] along with Europe.

Status Quo - Plugged in Live and Rockin' Winter UK Tour 2017

Cats in Space announced as special guests on the Status Quo Plugged In Live and Rockin' [20] nine date UK winter tour of November/December 2017.

Bonnie Tyler - The London Palladium, UK 2019

Cats in Space were special guests to Bonnie Tyler - Wednesday 18 September 2019 [21][22] at The London Palladium, Argyll Street, London UK

Blue Öyster Cult - UK Tour 2022

Cats in Space were special guests to Blue Öyster Cult[23][24] Tuesday 18 October 2022 at the De Montfort Hall, Leicester, UK, and Wednesday 19 October 2022 at City Hall, Newcastle, UK



  • Damien Edwards – lead vocals / backing vocals
  • Greg Hartguitars / backing vocals / synth
  • Steevi Bacondrums / percussion / backing vocals
  • Dean Howardguitars / backing vocals
  • Jeff Brown – bass guitar / backing vocals
  • Andy Stewart – piano / keyboards / synths
  • Mick Wilson – co-lead vocals/backing vocals and additional instrumentation


  • Paul ManziLead vocals / backing vocals
  • Mark Pascall – Lead vocals / backing vocals


Studio albums

  • Too Many Gods (31 October 2015, Harmony Factory Records)
  • Scarecrow (25 August 2017, Harmony Factory Records)
  • Day Trip To Narnia (1 March 2019, Harmony Factory Records)
  • My Kind of Christmas (6 December 2019)[25]
  • Atlantis (27 November 2020)
  • Kickstart the Sun (29 July 2022)[26]

Live albums

  • Cats Alive! (23 February 2018, Harmony Factory Records)


  1. ^ Growl, Rock 'n (24 August 2015). "Cats in Space 'Too Many Gods' Album, Video | ROCKNGROWL.COM". Axel Wiesenauer. Retrieved 24 August 2015.
  2. ^ Rock Radio, Platinum Rock. "Review – Cats In Space | Platinum Rock Radio". Paul Nicholls. Archived from the original on 27 January 2021. Retrieved 29 August 2015.
  3. ^ "Damien Edwards, Singer, Bristol, UK". Mandy. Retrieved 25 April 2021.
  4. ^ Goldby, Steve (25 August 2015). "Cats In Space Announce The Release Of Debut Album 'Too Many Gods' For October 2015". Retrieved 19 July 2016.
  5. ^ CATS in SPACE -The UK Band (24 August 2015), CATS in SPACE - The Band - 'Mr Heartache' - Official Video ( taken from the Album "Too Many Gods"), retrieved 27 August 2017
  6. ^ "Cats in Space 'Too Many Gods' Album, Video | ROCKNGROWL.COM". 24 August 2015. Retrieved 3 August 2017.
  7. ^ CATS in SPACE -The UK Band (21 July 2017), Cats In Space - The Mad Hatter's Tea Party [Official Video], retrieved 3 August 2017
  8. ^ "Half Moon". Retrieved 8 August 2016.
  9. ^ "Line Up". Stone Free Festival. Retrieved 12 July 2016.
  10. ^ "Stone Free Festival 2016 Line-Up :: Clashfinder General". Retrieved 12 March 2017.
  11. ^ Johnson, Laura. "12 New Acts Join Line Up For Ramblin' Man Fair - Stereoboard". Retrieved 3 August 2016.
  12. ^ Goldby, Steve (June 2016). "Ramblin' Man Fair Adds The Rising Stage Featuring Some Of The UK's Best Up And Coming Bands". Retrieved 4 August 2016.
  13. ^ "Ramblin Man Fair 2016 Announces Full Lineup - Just Listen To This". Just Listen To This. 1 July 2016. Retrieved 8 March 2017.
  14. ^ "THUNDER CATS". HRH Mag. 24 January 2017. Retrieved 8 March 2017.
  15. ^ "Cats in Space will play with Thunder". RAMzine. Retrieved 8 March 2017.
  16. ^ Park, Barclaycard presents BST Hyde. "Phil Collins | Barclaycard presents BST Hyde Park". Retrieved 2 April 2017.
  17. ^ Park, Barclaycard presents BST Hyde. "More acts announced for Phil Collins 30th June show! | Barclaycard presents BST Hyde Park". Archived from the original on 27 August 2017. Retrieved 27 August 2017.
  18. ^ "Marillion, Richard Thompson confirmed for Cropredy 2017". Prog. 12 December 2016. Retrieved 14 August 2017.
  19. ^ "Cats In Space to support Deep Purple on UK arena tour". Planet Rock. Retrieved 8 February 2018.
  20. ^ Goldby, Steve. "CATS IN SPACE TO SUPPORT STATUS QUO PLUS LIVE ALBUM ON THE WAY". Retrieved 8 February 2018.
  21. ^ "Bonnie Tyler Tickets, The London Palladium – Official Box Office". LW Theatres. Retrieved 17 December 2019.
  22. ^ Andynathan. "Gig review: BONNIE TYLER/Cats In Space – London Palladium, 18 September 2019". Get Ready to ROCK! News | Reviews | Interviews | Radio. Retrieved 17 December 2019.
  23. ^ Hobson, John (12 June 2020). "Don't Fear The Reaper by Blue Oyster Cult". Occupational Medicine. 70 (5): 354–355. doi:10.1093/occmed/kqaa091. ISSN 0962-7480.
  24. ^ "Blue Oyster Cult Previous 2022 Tour Dates". Retrieved 31 December 2022.
  25. ^ "Cats in Space – My Kind of Christmas (2019, CD)". Discogs.
  26. ^ "Cats in Space (2022,website)". Cats In Space.

External links